Blog & News

Ford lists the 2027 Transit City from $50,000 drive away

· 1 View · 5 min read

Ford lists the 2027 Transit City from $50,000 drive away

Ford Australia’s latest offers page lists a 2027 model year Transit City starting from $50,000 drive away. The tile writes that as $50K. It is a recommended drive away price at participating dealers for private buyers, Blue, Silver and Gold business fleet customers, and demonstrator customers. Ford says it may vary the offer. It is not a price before on road costs, and the words starting from mean it is not a promise that every contract will read $50,000.

That is the official Australian price that can be checked today. It is not a specification. The same page says the vehicle shown is an overseas model, that Australian specifications, appearance, features and colours may differ, and that the final production model will be right hand drive. Battery capacity, chemistry, WLTP range and towing are not on the tile.

Who the drive away offer is for

The footnote names private buyers, Blue, Silver and Gold business fleet customers, and demonstrator customers. Government buyers are not named. A fleet price on a particular van can change with colour, delivery and any pack, so get the figure in writing against the exact vehicle.

Do not mix this drive away price with a list price that excludes on road costs. Ford has not published a Transit City price of that second kind on the offers page. Do not call it a cut. No earlier official Australian Transit City price is printed beside it.

The charging voucher sold with the van

The same page offers an Evie Networks $1,000 fast charging voucher on the 2027 Transit City from 8 September 2026, while stocks last, ending 31 December. It can be used only with the Transit City drive away offer and cannot be combined with any other Transit City launch offer. The voucher terms name private, Blue, Silver and Gold customers. They do not repeat demonstrator eligibility, so a demonstrator buyer should not assume the voucher applies.

The claim must be lodged within 90 days of delivery. The voucher is for Evie public chargers, must be activated within six months of issue, and then lasts three years. It is not cash. The tile also mentions a Ford Finance commercial offer, but the disclosures that name this van do not set a finance dollar amount, so none is reported here. Depot charging is a separate cost. The EV home charging guide covers installation, and the voucher will not pay for a wall charger.

What Ford has not specified

Range, usable energy, charge speed, payload and towing are the questions a fleet actually needs. None of them are answered for the Transit City on the offers page. They are also absent from the E-Transit page, the E-Transit Custom page, the Transit showroom and Ford’s battery explainer. Those pages describe other vans, or battery types in general.

The overseas vehicle warning matters. A battery size or range taken from outside Ford Australia is not an Australian specification. Do not build a route, a charger order or a tow rating on unpublished numbers. Ask for the Australian specification of the right hand drive van and keep it with the contract.

The electric Transits Ford does specify

Ford does publish figures for two larger electric vans. They are not the Transit City and their numbers must not be borrowed as a stand in. They show what is still missing on the smaller van, and they are the electric load carriers that can be specified today. See the Ford E-Transit guide, the Transit Custom guide and the Ford Transit range.

Figure on the Ford Australia page

E-Transit

E-Transit Custom Trend

Motor

198 kW and 430 Nm, rear drive

160 kW and 415 Nm, rear drive

Usable battery

68 kWh

71.45 kWh

WLTP range

307 km to 295 km on the 420L

340 km

Fast charge

About 34 minutes, 15 to 80 percent, at 115 kW

About 29 minutes, 10 to 80 percent, at 125 kW

Towing

Not capable of towing

Not stated on the page checked

The Transit showroom says most variants can tow up to 3,500 kg braked, front wheel drive vans 2,750 kg, and that the E-Transit is not capable of towing. That last line is about the E-Transit only. It is not a Transit City rating. The E-Transit page also quotes up to 11.5 cubic metres, a 4.2 tonne gross vehicle mass and payload up to 1,616 kg. Its AC note is a little over eight hours on an 11.3 kW supply for a full charge of the quoted van. The E-Transit Custom Trend is a long wheelbase, with about 4.7 hours from 10 to 80 percent on 11 kW AC. Test range and charge times move with load, weather and the charger.

Ford’s battery page describes lithium iron phosphate as a durable, cost focused chemistry and nickel manganese cobalt as denser. It does not say which pack is in the Transit City. Until an Australian Ford page does, the chemistry is unconfirmed.

Warranty pages do not all say the same thing

The Transit showroom says new sales after 1 September 2026 get a conditional 7 year warranty when services are done at a Ford dealer, and a 5 year unlimited kilometre warranty regardless of where the vehicle is serviced. The E-Transit page still says 5 years unlimited and an 8 year or 160,000 km battery warranty, whichever comes first. The Transit City tile restates neither. Ask which text, including the high voltage battery, applies to this van.

Before a fleet order, lock the $50,000 starting drive away to a named eligibility category, decide if the Evie voucher is being used, and get Australian payload, volume, charge rates, range and towing in writing. The Ford model range shows where Ford places its vans. The offers page is the document that currently carries this price.

Tags

Tagged:Electric CarsElectric Cars AustraliaElectric vehicles australiaCar prices australia
Category:Automotive News in Australia

Frequently asked questions

About the author

Waqas Afzal

By Waqas Afzal

Founder & Senior Automotive Editor

View profile

Founder and Senior Automotive Editor at AussieMotor, covering automotive news, new car launches, vehicle pricing, buying guides, reviews, and market insights. I oversee editorial quality, fact-checking, SEO, and content strategy, with a focus on providing accurate, practical information that helps car buyers make better informed decisions.

50 articles · Joined 2026

View All →
Featured image for Nissan Ariya listed from $42,990 drive-away in an October offer

Nissan Ariya listed from $42,990 drive-away in an October offer

Waqas Afzal4 Min Read

Nissan Australia lists Ariya Engage from $42,990 recommended drive-away for private and ABN buyers who purchase from 1 to 31 October 2026 and take delivery by 30 November 2026. Advance, Advance+ and Evolve e-4ORCE sit at $44,990, $51,990 and $60,990 on the same basis.

Featured image for BYD lists a $4,000 cashback on Sealion 7, Shark 6, Seal 6 and more

BYD lists a $4,000 cashback on Sealion 7, Shark 6, Seal 6 and more

Waqas Afzal5 Min Read

BYD Australia is paying $4,000 cashback including GST on named Sealion 7, Shark 6, Seal 6, Sealion 5, Sealion 6 and Sealion 8 variants. Orders close on 21 December 2026, with delivery due by 31 December 2026. It is not a new drive-away price and it does not stack with 0.99 per cent finance.